Natl Gallery Banner

Vaishali Kiran Grover

Miami, FL
Age 16

Environmentally-Friendly Enzyme Based Antifouling Paint 


Environmentally-Friendly Enzyme Based Antifouling Paint

The enzyme-based antifouling paint utilizes biodegradable fruit enzymes derived from papaya and pineapple as the active ingredients in place of conventional biocides of commonly used heavy metals and highly toxic chemicals such as tributyltin (TBT) and cuprous oxide. Currently the International Maritime Organization (IMO) is conducting a worldwide five year phase out of the widely used TBT by January 1, 2008 .


The National Gallery for America's Young Inventors is a program of

Edison Innovation Foundation

Proudly sponsored by
The Edison Innovation


Please support our efforts by using this link for your online purchases:

Questions or Comments? Want to learn more? Please email us at

Visitors Welcomed to Date =

 We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation for the National Gallery of America's Young Inventors, 1999-2006

Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation


The National Gallery for America's Young Inventors ™ is the only nationally recognized hall of fame for student inventors, established in 1993 and given permission by the adult National Inventors Hall of Fame Board in Washington, D.C. to archive and enshrine great student inventions and inventors K-12.

The National Gallery for America's Young Inventors ™ is owned and administered by The National Museum of Education
©1988-2017 National Museum of Education... In Partnership for America's Future, Inc. - All Rights Reserved

No portion of this site (including text, photos, drawings, renderings, sounds, etc.) may be used in any form without
express written consent of The National Museum of Education, Inc. • All violators will be prosecuted.
National Museum of Education, Inc. •1145 Highbrook Street, Suite 308 • Akron, Ohio 44301 • 330-376-8300

• • Funding provided by the support of businesses, granting agencies, and individual contributors.